A bumper 25-car grid will line up for the second round of the 2016 Australian Formula Ford Series at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.

Championship leader Leanne Tander (Sonic Mygale) will head into the second round of the series as the driver to beat, having taken two wins from the three races at Sandown last month. 

But extending her points lead won’t be easy. Those looking to take over from Tander at the top of the table include Borland Racing Developments young gun Jayden Ojeda, who was also a race winner at Sandown, and sits just three points shy of Tander in what is shaping up to be an incredible title fight.

Tander may have some competition from within as well, with Sonic team-mate Max Vidau hitting form at last weekend’s Victorian Formula Ford Series round. Two wins helped Vidau to round honours at Sandown. 

Jordan Boys was also a race winner at the state round at Sandown last weekend, and currently sits third in the AFFS points as well – albeit narrowly, with just three points separating him and sixth-placed Lachlan Gibbons, with Vidau and Adrian Lazzaro sandwiched in between.

Synergy Motorsport will head to their home race with a strong line-up, the NSW-based team set to have a hand in running five entries, including Lazzaro’s car. The other Synergy drivers are Chris Lazarevic, Andrew Kahl, Anthony Colombrita, Jett Bennett, and Ryan Pike. 

In the Kent class, Jake Hobbs leads the way on points but will have to contend with an eight-strong field at Sydney Motorsport Park. And that field includes NSW state championship front-runners Simon Hodges, Dan Holihan, and Aaron Grech, all of which were missing from the opening National Series round at Sandown.




No.         Driver                                   Team/Sponsor                                                  Chassis

2              Max Vidau                           Sonic Motor Racing                                         Mygale

6              Paul Zsidy                            Borland Racing Developments                   Spectrum

8              Jordan Boys                        Jordan Boys Motorsport                                               Mygale

12           Andrew Kahl                      Synergy Motorsport                                       Spectrum

14           Peter Major                        Fastlane Racing                                                 Stealth

18           Lachlan Gibbons               Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport                      Mygale

20           Anthony Colombrita       Synergy Motorsport                                       Spectrum

30           Jayden Ojeda                     Borland Racing Developments                   Spectrum

42           Leanne Tander                  Sonic Motor Racing                                         Mygale

44           Jett Bennett                       Synergy Motorsport                                       Spectrum

53           Mark Lowing                      Listec Race Cars                                                Listec

77           Hunter McElrae                 Eximm/Torua Networks                Mygale

85           Ben Reichstein                  Reichstein Motorsport                   Mygale

91           Homan Ho                           Fastlane Racing                                 Stealth

95           Adrian Lazzaro                   Melbourne Satellites                      Spectrum

96           Ryan Pike                            Synergy Motorsport                       Spectrum

99           Will Brown                          Cars Galore Toowoomba              Mygale



3              Aaron Grech                       Anglo Australian Motorsport       Spirit

7              Chris Lazarevic                   Synergy Motorsport                       Spectrum

31           Simon Hodges                   Anglo Australian Motorsport       Spectrum

35           Jake Donaldson                 Jake Donaldson Racing                   Listec

41           Daniel Holihan                   Anglo Australian Motorsport       Mygale

80           Jason Liddell                       Donate Life                                         Swift

86           Shane Baumer                   Cadohaven Drainage                      Van Diemen

94           Jake Hobbs                         Hobbs Motorsport                           Spirit