The Australian Formula Ford Series title fight is set to go down to the wire, with four drivers still in contention heading into this weekend’s final round at Phillip Island.

A new Australian Formula Ford Champion will be crowned as part of the popular Island Magic race meeting at Phillip Island this weekend, with Leanne Tander the points leader heading into the final three races of the season.

Tander is on-track to join recently-crowned Australian Rally Champion Molly Taylor as a national series’ first female winner, the Sonic Mygale driver taking a 32-point lead into Island Magic.

There are, however, 61 points still on offer, with Will Brown best-placed to take on Tander from second place. Privateer and AFFS rookie Jordan Boys currently sits third, a further 19 points back. Spectrum young gun Jayden Ojeda is the fourth and final driver in mathematical contention, although will need a lot to go his way from 58 points back.

There are a total of 25 cars entered for Phillip Island, including new FFA Vic Championship and CAMS Vic Series winner Max Vidau, who will step up to the AFFS full-time in 2017. The same goes for Queenslander Harrison Jones who will travel south ahead of a full AFFS campaign next season, while 15-year-old Courtney Prince is another of the local Victorian state runners looking to make an impression on the national field.

In the Formula Ford 1600 class, runaway champion Jake Hobbs will look to cap off an almost-perfect season at the final round. He will face stiff competition from the likes of Daniel Holihan – one of the drivers looking at a full AFFS campaign for 2017 – and Brendan Jones, who just won the FFA and CAMS Victorian series for a second year in a row.

John Blanchard is a Formula Ford star making a return. The 1992 Australian Formula Ford runner-up (and father of 2007 Australian Formula Ford Champion and current Supercars driver Tim Blanchard) returns in his famous blue Van Diemen.

A three race programme will be held as part of the Island Magic event over the coming weekend.





2          Max Vidau                   Sonic Motor Racing/Hi Tech Oils                                  Mygale

3          Courtney Prince           Sonic Motor Racing                                                       Mygale

4          James Westaway          Sonic Motor Racing/Westbon                                        Mygale

6          Paul Zsidy                    Borland Racing Developments                                      Spectrum

7          Chris Lazarevic            Plus Fitness                                                                    Spectrum

8          Jordan Boys                 Albury Automotive/Mygale/Penrite/Modem Const.      Mygale

10         Luke Ellery                 Ellery Motorsport                                                           Spectrum

12         Andrew Kahl              Synergy Motorsport                                                        Spectrum

15         John Doria                  Doria Bros Transport                                                      Mygale

16         Cooper Murray            Dream Motorsport                                                         Mygale

18         Lachlan Gibbons         Lachlan Gibbons Motorsport                                         Mygale

20         Ryan Suhle                  Synergy Motorsport/Ray White                                     Spectrum

21         Harrison Jones            Jones Motorsport                                                            Spectrum

31         Jayden Ojeda               VHT/Raceworks/Spectrum                                            Spectrum

42         Leanne Tander             Sonic Motor Racing/Fleetcare                                       Mygale

48         Nicholas Carroll           Wilson Security/Frontier                                               Spectrum

71         Samuel Dicker             Fastlane Racing                                                              Stealth

85         Ben Reichstein             Reichstein Motorsport                                                   Spectrum

95         Adrian Lazzaro            Wilson Security/CD Automotive/Parkinson Gp            Spectrum

97         Liam McLellan             DSL Welding/EGO/Holden/JC                                      Mygale

99         Will Brown                   Cars Galore/BF Racing                                                  Mygale



19         John Blanchard             Cooldrive                                                                      Van Diemen

23         Daniel Holihan               Anglo Australian Motorsport                                       Mygale

78         Brendan Jones              Speco/VHT/PIARC                                                        Spectrum

94         Jake Hobbs                  Karcraft                                                                            Spirit