Jarrod Costello has won his first Australian FF1600 round this weekend at Sydney Motorsport Park, thanks in part to some good luck and consistency.

Costello acquired Mitch Maddren's championship-winning Van Diemen RF01, a move that paid dividends over the course of the weekend.

Mygale driver Scott Tidyman delivered on Saturday morning to grab a handy pole position, ahead of Tim Hamilton and Shane Nichols. In race one, 2018 runner-up Tim Hamilton scored a lights-to-flag win, well clear of Costello, who enjoyed a great battle with pole sitter Scott Tidyman before the latter spun on lap ten. Shane Nichols was ready to take advantage of Tidyman's mistake to round out the podium for the first race of the season.

Race two was shortened due to Jason Liddell's Swift having a mechanical issue during the out-lap. Tim Hamilton once again led the FF1600 field from start to finish to continue his winning streak, leaving fellow Queenslander Jarrod Costello over nine seconds behind. Scott Tidyman fought his way back through the field, after his race one mistake, and rounded out the podium.

In race three, Tim Hamilton romped away once again to take the chequered flag first but it was not smooth sailing thereafter
. The Queenslander was handed a 30-second post-race penalty for an apparel infringement. As a result, Hamilton was relegated down the order to 6th position, giving rookie Jarrod Costello his maiden race and round win. Scott Tidyman and Shane Nichols rounded out the podium for the final race.

Costello leaves Sydney at the top of the standings, just one point clear of Tim Hamilton. It is set to be a fantastic duel all season long between the pair of Queenslanders. The second round of the FF1600 Championship will be held at Queensland Raceway on May 4-5.

2019 Australian FF1600 Championship standings (top 5)

1st - Jarrod Costello - 52pts
2nd - Tim Hamilton - 51pts
3rd - John Pereira - 37pts
4th - Scott Tidyman - 29pts
5th - Josh
Glinn - 22pts

2019 Australian FF1600 Championship calendar

Round 1: April 5-7 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) - NSW State Championship
Round 2: May 3-5 Queensland Raceway (QLD) - RACERS
Round 3: September 27-29 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit (Vic) - Vic State Championship